

State of Nevada Child Care Licensing Reference Guide



Please note this is a *brief* reference and for more information, contact the licensing office in your area: Southern Nevada (702) 486.3822 or Northern Nevada (775) 684.4463.

Childcare provider qualifications can be found on the child care licensing website: <u>https://dwss.nv.gov/Care/CCL/ccl-licensing-home/</u>. You will find information on the application process, trainings, background checks, TB testing, etc.

Please access the full Nevada Administrative Code and the Nevada Revised Statutes online: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-432A.html or https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-432A.html

Centers			
Operating from 6:30a.m. to 9:00p.m.			
Age of Child	Child Ratio to	Group	
	Staff	Size	
Under 9 mos.	4:1	8	
9mos - < 2yrs	6:1	12	
2yrs < 3yrs.	9:1	18	
3yrs < 4yrs.	12:1	24	
4yrs < 5yrs	13:1	26	
5yrs. & up	18:1	36	
Note: When dealing with mixed age groups,			
ratios will be determined by the youngest child in			
the room.			
Operating from 9:00p.m. to 6:30a.m.			
< 3 yrs.	6:1	12	
3 yrs. & up	10:1	20	

Family Care Homes Up to 6 children Total			
Age of Child	Group Size		
< 1 yr.	2		
1yr – 3 yrs.	4		
3yrs &up	6		

Group Care Homes Up to 12 children Total			
Age of Child	Child to	Group Size	
	Staff Ratio		
< 1 yr.	2:1	4	
1yr – 3 yrs.	4:1	8	
3yrs &up	6:2	12	

<u>Trainings include but are not limited to</u>: Child Development, First Aid/CPR, Signs and Symptoms of Illness w/ Blood Borne Pathogens, Reporting and Recognizing Child Abuse, SIDS, Prevention of Shaken Baby Syndrome an Abusive Head Trauma, Administration of Medication, Building and Physical Premises Safety, Emergency Preparedness, Transportation and Wellness.

Employees, residents and/or volunteers will be required to have <u>a complete background check</u>. This process could take up to 3 months.

A completed Health Inspection is required

A <u>completed Fire Inspection</u> is required.

Providers will be required to obtain and provide proof of <u>a negative TB test</u>.

Child Care Licensing Application Fees: Family Care (up to 6 Children) \$20 Group Care (up to 12 Children) \$60 Centers (13 Children or more) range from \$100 up to \$300